February 24, 2015 – Pappy Van Winkle Family Reserve 20-year-old was named Best Bourbon in the 2015 World Whiskies Awards presented by Whisky Magazine, while Forty Creek Confederation Oak took top Canadian Whisky honors. North American winners in the annual competition were announced today during the Whiskies & Spirits Conference in New York City.

The Pappy Van Winkle 20 won the Best Bourbon with an Age Statement category, and was then judged blindly last week by a panel in London against Elijah Craig Barrel Proof, which won the category for Bourbons without an age statement. The judges selected the Pappy for overall Best Bourbon honors.

In other categories, Balcones Texas Single Malt won Best American Single Malt honors, Thomas H. Handy Sazerac Rye was named Best US Rye Whiskey, and Parker’s Heritage Collection 2014 Original Batch won for Best US Wheat Whiskey. Mellow Corn was named the Best Non-Bourbon US Whiskey, and Sons of Liberty Seasonals Hop Flavored Whiskey took top honors in the flavored whiskey category.

The overall winner of Best American Whiskey honors will not be announced until March 19, when the remainder of the World Whiskies Awards winners will be announced at the Whiskies & Spirits Conference in London.

Here is a rundown of medalists in the various categories as announced during the ceremony:

Best Flavored Whiskey
Winner: Sons of Liberty Seasonals Hop Flavored Whiskey
Gold: Knob Creek Smoked Maple
Silver: J.P. Wiser’s Spiced Vanilla

Best American Single Malt
Winner: Balcones Texas Single Malt
Gold: Balcones Fr. Oak Single Malt
Silver: Sons of Liberty Battle Creek Single Malt

Best American Wheat Whiskey
Winner: Parker’s Heritage Collection 2014 Original Batch Wheat Whiskey
Gold: Bernheim Original Wheat Whiskey
Silver: Bainbridge Battle Point Wheat Whiskey

Best American Rye Whiskey – No Age Statement
Winner: Thomas H. Handy Sazerac Straight Rye
Gold: Col. E.H. Taylor Jr. Straight Rye
Silver: Sonoma Rye
Bronze: Rittenhouse Bottled in Bond

Best Rye Whiskey – Age Statement
Winner: Redemption Rye Barrel Proof 7YO
Medal winners not announced

Best American Non-Bourbon
Winner: Mellow Corn
Gold: Balcones Brimstone
Silver: Rogue Dead Guy
Bronze: Balcones Baby Blue

Best Bourbon – No Age Statement
Winner: Elijah Craig Barrel Proof
Gold: Buffalo Trace
Silver: Col. E.H. Taylor Single Barrel and Four Roses Single Barrel
Bronze: William Larue Weller Bourbon

Best Bourbon – Age Statement
Winner: Pappy Van Winkle Family Reserve 20 Years Old
Gold: Four Roses 2014 Limited Edition Small Batch
Silver: Four Roses 2014 Limited Edition Single Barrel
Bronze: W.L. Weller 12

Editor’s Note: This story was updated to include the medal winners announced during the awards ceremony.

Links: World Whiskies Awards | Whiskies & Spirits Conference